Events     News     ►Join Our Mailing List     ►Donate Now 
HomeCollaborateEducateCelebrateMembershipAbout UsContacts

Academic Challenge Coach Awards

The Academic Challenge Coach Awards recognize exemplary coaches of student teams that participate and compete in academic challenges approved by the Minnesota Academic League Council. Candidates demonstrate passion for students and the activity, encourage participation of students of all backgrounds and learning abilities, create a safe and harassment-free environment, and involve students in planning and decision-making. They uphold the ethical integrity of competition and model appropriate contest behavior at all times.
A Minnesota teaching license is not required for the Academic Challenge Coach category.

Past Academic Challenge Coach Award Honorees:

Jennifer Doom, Tech High School, St. Cloud
Becky Haddad, Glencoe-Silver Lake High School, Glencoe
Ron Hustvedt, Salk Middle School, Elk River Area Public Schools
Karlyn Doyle, North Junior High, St. Cloud Area School District

Sheila Johnston, Centennial Elementary and Sheridan Hills Elementary, Richfield Public Schools 
Huy Nguyen, Sunrise Park Middle School,White Bear Lake Area Schools
Joyce Baumann, Cold Springs Elementary, ROCORI Area School District
Amanda Meyer, Springfield High School, Springfield Public Schools
Christopher Lenius, Chaska High School and Chanhassen High School, Eastern Carver County Schools    
Gail Sarff, Wayzata High School, Wayzata Public Schools


Thomas Appel, Mountain Lake High School, Mountain Lake Public Schools       
Vergene Downs,  Benjamin E. Mays International Magnet School, St. Paul
Nate Henry, Pipestone Area High School, Pipestone
Jerry Shouts, Delano High School, Delano

Mark Schleisman, West Elementary, Murray County Central Schools
Kim Westra, Atheneum Gifted & Talented Magnet Program-Salem Hills Elementary, Inver Grove Heights Community Schools
Gwen Briesemeister, Delano Public Schools
Jeff Voss, Jackson County Central Schools
Laura Bidne, Jackson County Central Schools
Peggy Pasche, Buffalo Senior High School
William James, Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial HS
ADawn Melbye, Lincoln High School, Thief River Falls
Barry Bayerl, Sts. Peter, Paul & Michael School, St. Cloud
Vicky Harris, Glencoe Silver Lake Schools
James Schwarzbauer, Hermantown High School
Bonnie Spohn Schmaltz, Eden Valley-Watkins High School
Joe Jorland, Walker High School
Brian Ribnick, Metcalf Junior High School, Burnsville

Paul Keeney, Centennial Middle School
Larry Stacy, Stewartville Middle School/High School
Patrick Ryan, Jr., Osakis High School
Connie Leyendecker, Benilde-St. Margaret’s School

Barb Kotzer, Creel Valley Elementary
Janice Thompson, Pine Island Schools
Laura Cavender, Hamilton Elementary School
Cheryl Retrum, MACCRAY High School

Students, parents, and educators:


Printable Nomination Form
Microsoft Word
Adobe PDF

Download Application

Please return this application by January 19, 2018

Follow us:
Synergy & Leadership Exchange
2075 Lookout Drive
North Mankato, MN 56003
2015 Member

Copyright 2012       Synergy & Leadership Exchange        Website Terms         Children's Privacy Protection Guidelines        Site Map

This web site uses Kentico CMS, the content management system for ASP.NET developers.