HomeCollaborateEducateCelebrateMembershipAbout UsContacts

2011 WEM Honorees


Scot Hovan


Ikhlas Abdelkhalig


Kristina Kofski


Art & Barb Straub


Tania Lyon


Tom Appel


Vergene Downs

Congratulations 2011 WEM Honorees!
Ethics in Education Award: This award recognizes educators who exemplify ethical behavior for the teaching profession and promote ethical practices and development for their students through classroom activities or curriculum.
Statewide honorees:
    • Kristina Kofski – Lakes International Language Academy, Forest Lake
    • Tania Lyon – Mankato West High School, Mankato Area Public Schools
  Regional honorees:
    • Christine Butler – Sibley East High School, Sibley East Schools
Teacher Achievement Award: This award recognizes teachers who support, inspire and assist students to achieve despite barriers to learning.  
  Statewide honorees:
    • Ikhlas Abdelkhalig – Pilot Knob STEM Magnet School, Eagan
    • Scot Hovan – Mahtomedi High School, Mahtomedi Public Schools
  Regional honorees:
    • Eric Koser – Mankato West High School, Mankato Area Public Schools
    • Rick Purrington – Marshall High School, Marshall Public Schools
    • Nora Whalen – Avalon School, St. Paul
    • Alece Henderson – Noble Academy, Minneapolis
    • Ken Ahlberg – Hermantown Middle School and High School, Hermantown Community Schools
    • Katie Zuehlke – Bendix Elementary, Annandale Public Schools

Academic Challenge Coach Award: This award recognizes coaches of student teams who participate and compete in academic challenge or enrichment programs endorsed by the Minnesota’s Academic League Council.
  Statewide honorees:
    • Thomas Appel – Mountain Lake High School, Mountain Lake Public Schools       
    • Vergene Downs – Benjamin E. Mays International Magnet School, St. Paul
  Regional honorees:
    • Christopher Lenius – Chaska High School and Chanhassen High School, Eastern Carver County Schools
    • Robert Ihrig – Mankato West High School, Mankato Area Public Schools
    • Patrick Hiltner – Lincoln Junior High School, Glencoe-Silver Lake Public Schools

Excellence in Education Award
This awards was created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of educators whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities outside the traditional education system and classroom.
Statewide honoree:
o    Art and Barb Straub – Master Naturalists and Educators

Follow us:
Synergy & Leadership Exchange
2075 Lookout Drive
North Mankato, MN 56003
2018 Member

Copyright 2018       Accessibility      Website Terms       Children's Privacy Protection Guidelines        Site Map