Synergy Logo

                                                                          Events & Registration           

HomeCollaborateEducateCelebrateMembershipAbout UsContacts

Ethics in Education Awards

The Ethics in Education Awards recognize exemplary educators who embody ethical behavior and promote ethical development for students through classroom or school activities, policies or curriculum. Candidates expose students to basic ethical principles to deepen student understanding, engage students in moral problem solving, stimulate dialogue, generate student moral action, and incorporate a well-designed and well-defined comprehensive standard of ethical behavior. They provide a bias-free assessment of students; foster autonomy and higher-level learning experiences; encourage families, staff and community members to partner in character-building efforts; and demonstrate leadership to enhance or restore values and ethics to school curriculum.

Past Ethics in Education Award Honorees:

Megan Schimek, Pine Island High School
Melanie Urban, Maple River High School
Karla Beck, St. James
William Ruffin II, Lincoln Elementary
Heather Wilsey, Garlough Environmental Magnet School, West St. Paul–Mendota Heights–Eagan Area Schools
Carla Allen, School for All Seasons, Isanti
Kelli Hanninen, Rossman Elementary, Detroit Lakes Public Schools
James Sonju, Lincoln Elementary, Rochester School District

Jennifer Parker, Garlough Environmental Magnet School, West St. Paul–Mendota Heights–Eagan Area Schools
Claire Gilbert, Lakes International Language Academy

Monica Bowler, Friedell Middle School, Rochester Public Schools
Deborah Krohn, Garlough Environmental Magnet School, West St. Paul–Mendota Heights–Eagan Area Schools

Carrie Bakken, Avalon Charter School, St. Paul
Emily Seppman, Roosevelt Elementary School, Mankato Area Public Schools

Kristina Kofski,  Lakes International Language Academy, Forest Lake
Tania Lyon, Mankato West High School, Mankato Area Public Schools

Angelette Brown, Central Middle School, Columbia Heights School District
Megan Gerres, Chatfield Elementary, Belle Plaine


Kathleen Gerber, Atheneum Gifted & Talented Magnet Program-Salem Hills Elementary, Inver Grove Heights Community Schools
Adeline Miller, Tracy Elementary School, Tracy Area Public Schools

Jeanne Burtzel, John Clark Elementary, ROCORI
Jennifer Heggestuen, Lake Park Audubon Public Schools
Cheryl Bjerk, Fairview Elementary School
Charlotte Landreau, Highland Park Senior High School
Sara Paul, North High School, Maplewood
Monica Villars, Willmar Area Learning Center
Lois Demers, Hopkins High School
Robert Shaner, Grand Rapids High School
Rebecca Stroud, Mahtomedi High School
Ossie Brooks James, Lyndale Elementary School
Pamela Stewart, Kenny Elementary School
High School Team, Anoka High School
Led by: Bill Mittlefehldt, Tim Sheie
Casey Cavanaugh, Adams Spanish Immersion School
Timothy Walz, Mankato West High School
Alex Messicci, Somerset Elementary
Nancy Ludovissie, Hopkins Senior High School
Barbara Judd, Austin High School
Theology Department, Academy of Holy Angels:
Joel Loecken
Kathleen Roy
Kevin Chirpich
Lisa Murphy
Donelle Poling
Roger Mahn, Wayzata High School
Shirley Harrison, Luverne Elementary School

Students, parents, and educators:


Printable Nomination Form
Microsoft Word
Adobe PDF

Download Application

Please return this application by January 10, 2020

Follow us:
Synergy & Leadership Exchange
2075 Lookout Drive
North Mankato, MN 56003
2018 Member

Copyright 2018       Accessibility      Website Terms       Children's Privacy Protection Guidelines        Site Map